Page 1 of 1

A Difficult - Mate In 1

Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 8:58 pm
by ecperreault

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:02 am
by angelofthenight
"Code of Laws of the British Chess Association" Law XIII thereof provided, "When a pawn has reached the eighth square, the player has the option of selecting a piece, whether such piece has previously been lost or not, whose names and powers it shall then assume, or of deciding that it shall remain a pawn."

White is to play and checkmate in one move. No solution is possible under modern-day rules, but with Law XIII in effect the surprising solution is 1.b8(Black N)!, when the newly promoted knight blocks its own king's flight square.

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:36 am
by islanderfan
But what if the King takes the promoted knight?

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 1:40 pm
by ecperreault

Re: A Difficult - Mate In 1

Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 4:26 pm
by davidswhite

I just now looked at this. I'd have to classify this not as a rule change but rather a rule clarification.When the rule was initially written,it never occurred
to the drafters that the rule,as written,was incomplete since they would never have considered the possibility that the player with the advanced pawn would ever benefit by promoting it to a piece of his opponent's color. When their eyes were opened by the referenced game,they didn't write a new rule
negating the original one but ,instead, took the original rule and added some words to the end of it which would prevent their intention from ever again being subverted.