a few questions

For discussion pertaining to Chess, Net-Chess, or general interests.
chessonly

a few questions

Post by chessonly » Sun Aug 29, 2004 1:32 pm

hi i am relatively new to turn based chess(loving it :D ) and wld like to know a few things.
1. what is the diff between averating ,rating provisional .

2. y is the registration process so simple. i mean wldnt an email registration process wld keep troublemakers multiple acc holders at bay.

3.the rating seem to high .i had a rating of 1450 - 1500 in blitz at fics. and after 9 games i am already 1900.

Aother thing-
(not realted to slowchess)
does anyone know how can i use the move list at the bottom on each game in a pgn viewer like chessbase, without actually having to make each move ,(and i am not planning to cheat) its a geneal Question since i get these lists all over the net and hav no idea how to use them.

Thanks
any answers plz

keithstuart
Uranium

Post by keithstuart » Sun Aug 29, 2004 2:32 pm

averating is the average rating of your opponents in all your finished games

provisonal probably just means you have not finished 20 games yet

as for a simple registration process i woudln't know about that but you do enter an email address to receive move and challenge information as well as game results etc

high ratings has been discussed alot but there is nothing much anyone can do about it really

as for PGN lists their is a view PGN move list directly above the move list at the bottom this link gives you a PGN style list which can be used in chess programs with a few alterations

wulebgr

Post by wulebgr » Sun Aug 29, 2004 2:33 pm

You are provisional through 25 games, or 20 (?)--search through the FAQ and Forums, there are lots of discussions. Average rating is the average rating of your opponents (I don't think those that time-out before move ten count).

The ratings here are terribly inflated. I'm 1500 USCF, 2300 here.